FBCookieSwap: Double Dark Chocolate Merlot Cookies

TUM_DDCMC_1212_4

Happy Wednesday! I’m so excited because if you browse around, today is the reveal day of FB Cookie Swap. That means you will see cookies all over this virtual world. Being a cookie monster lover, I am overly excited about this Cookie Swap. This year, The GREAT FOOD BLOGGER COOKIE SWAP has gathered 575 confirmed participants in 8 countries, raising nearly $2,300 for Cookies for Kids’ Cancer (add to that OXO’s matching contribution and we’re up to $4,600!). Isn’t that amazing?

TUM_DDCMC_1212_3

So, when Lindsay and Julie mentioned about this Cookie Swap, I was so thrilled and signed up right away. Through this, I got a chance to meet other foodies.

TUM_OXOCS_1212_1

Karen from Trilogy Edibles sent me these vanilla and chocolate peppermint cookies – freshly made and hand piped. Her cookies are so lovely with firm texture that I hesitant to eat them.

TUM_OXOCS_1212_3

Val from Scrumptious Life sent me these shortbread with white chocolate, pistachios & cranberries cookies which unbelievably amazing! I am a big fan of shortbread cookies, so I jumped up and down when I received this.

TUM_OXOCS_1212_5

Lauren from Have Fork Will Eat sent me a variation on a traditional Algerian cookie called “bousou la tmessou,” a treat made of flour, sugar, ghee and orange blossom water. She sent the cookies in 2 different flavors: rosewater and lemon. The rosewater is very floral and both cookies really melt in your mouth. I definitely enjoy these cookies heaven!

TUM_OXOCS_1212_4

Now, let’s talk cookies. When I saw this cookie recipe, it was pure love at first sight. I’ve seen and tried so many cookie recipes, but this one is definitely something I did not want to miss; especially since it contains merlot. It was a total madness! I made few extra batches so I could share some with some of my friends. The combination and texture are so perfect, and it is so easy to make!

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012

Double Dark Chocolate Merlot Cookies
Courtesy of Simply Scratch

Ingredients:

  • 1½ cups All Purpose Flour
  • ¾ cups Special Dark Cocoa Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 stick Unsalted Butter, softened
  • ¾ cup Granulated Sugar
  • ¾ cup Dark Brown Sugar, packed
  • 1 whole Large Egg
  • ¾ teaspoon Real Vanilla Extract
  • ½ cup Merlot
  • 10 ounces {one bag} Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl combine, the flour, cocoa, salt and baking soda. Stir and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl; cream together the sugars and butter until light and fluffy. Add the egg, vanilla and Merlot. Once combined, gradually add in the dry ingredients and mix well after each addition. Fold in chocolate chips and spoon out a rounded tablespoon onto a prepared baking pan, leaving two inches or so in between.
  3. Bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 8-10 minutes. Let cool slightly before transferring to a wire cooling rack.

TUM_DDCMC_1212_5

…and tomorrow I’ll be start posting 12 days of Holiday Cheer filledwith all yummy goodness, so stay tuned!

TUM_christmastag_1212

Comments

  1. Linda,
    love this! These are the cookies you sent to me right? LOVE them. . I can’t believe I missed all the buzz about this. . will definitely participate next year. . love that OXO is matching contributions. . WOW! 🙂

  2. Linda – THANK YOU for sending these delicious cookies. My office completely enjoyed them and now I have a great recipe!!! Happy Holidays!

  3. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    Your cookies look delicious!! I’m so jealous of bakers now who can swap their favorite cookies. I bet all the good ones are traveling around… Once I’m good at baking I want to join!

  4. Thank you so much for these – we loved them (and the adorable tin!)! 🙂

  5. Such a great cause to raise money for. Congrats for helping to contribute! And also such a cool way to network with bloggers as well as some fun baking, what’s not to love? 🙂

Leave a Reply

