A Sweet Celebration with Sponge Cake with Cheese

TUM_SCWC_1212_1

Today is the day. I used to make a big fuss of this day and can’t wait for this day to come because I got all excited about receiving presents and having friends over. I had no choice but to trumpet and toss confetti to celebrate another wonderful year. But not anymore — because I don’t want to be reminded that I don’t get any younger. And this year, I’m dragging myself even more since my aunt just passed away few days ago.

TUM_SCWC_1212_2A

Today is the day where calories do not count (according to me) and people grant all my wishes (most of the time). A couple of years ago I decided to start make my own cake because it’s my excuse to have more than my regular portion. Yes, I bake my own cake. It first started when we moved to LA and I had no idea what I wanted as my birthday cake. Plus, I wanted to use fondant, so I decided to do it my own and it took me 2 days plus to finish it since I could only do it at night.

TUM_SCWC_1212_2B

I wish I had more time to decorate one this year, but I do believe that simplicity is the best. This is one of my favorite cakes because it has sweet taste from the cake and a bit of saltiness from the cheese, plus the smooth spongy texture. Yes, we use cheese to decorate, but it’s not any kind of cheese. I was lucky to find this at a local Asian grocery store just in time to make this cake. So today is the day when I celebrate my birthday. Today is the day when I’m growing wiser.

TUM_SCWC_1212_3

Sponge Cake with Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs, separate the yolk and white
  • ¼ cup powdered sugar
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbs milk
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cream of tartar
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • 1½ tbs corn starch
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 4 tbs butter, melted
  • 200 gr cheese, shredded
  • Your favorite buttercream recipe

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour 6-inch cake pans and line bottoms with parchment paper.
  2. Beat the egg yolk and powdered sugar in a mixer. Add the milk and vanilla, then combine. Set aside.
  3. In a mixer, beat the egg white, salt, and cream of tartar. Add the sugar and mix well.
  4. Slowly combine the egg yolk mixture to the egg white mixture.
  5. Sift the flour, cornstarch, and baking powder into a bowl. Beat the flour mixture into the liquid ingredients. Add 1/3 portion of the cheese and mix well until batter is smooth
  6. Add the melted butter and combine well.
  7. Bake in the preheated oven until the cakes have browned lightly and a toothpick inserted into the center of a cake comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes. Allow the cakes to cool in pans before removing.
  8. With an offset spatula, frost the sides and top of cake. Fill the cake with the remaining cheese and serve.
Comments

  1. Happy Birthday Linda! looks like a lovely cake ! I’m so sorry to hear of your aunt passing away as well :(:(:( – my condolences xoxo

Leave a Reply

