Sweetly Gluten Free: Apple Cider Doughnuts

Today is finally the day. No, it’s not about the election (phew) but this gluten-free recipe that I’m about to share. Well, Thanksgiving is coming soon and we want to be a good host to our guests, meaning we want to be able to accomodate their needs (read: dietary restrictions). If you notice, foods for people sensitive to gluten are popping up everywhere. So, I was so excited to share this recipe when I read it. This apple cider doughnut is so much fun, easy to make (and clean), and taste so wonderful! And once you start pop this in your mouth, you won’t be able to stop – so, beware.

Gluten-Free Apple Cider Doughnuts

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups gluten-free biscuits/ baking mix
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 pkg (1/2 oz.) quick-rise yeast
  • 1½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • ½ cup warm water (110°F – 115°F)
  • 6 tbs butter, melted
  • ¼ cup unsweetened applesauce, room temperature
  • 1 tbs vanilla extract

Chocolate Glaze

  • ½ cup whipping cream
  • ½ cup dark corn syrup
  • 9 ounces bittersweet (not unsweetened) or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix the first eight ingredients.
  2. In another bowl, whisk the water, butter, applesauce and vanilla until blended.
  3. Add to the dry ingredents; stir until blended.
  4. Cover and let rest for 10 minutes.
  5. Cut a small hole in the corner of a food-safe plastic bag. Fill with batter. Pipe into a 6-cavity doughnut pan coated with cooking spray, filling cavities three-fourths full.
  6. Bake at 325°F for 11-14 minutes or until golden brown.
  7. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack. Repeat with remaining batter.
  8. Make the glaze: Bring cream and corn syrup to simmer in medium saucepan. Remove from heat. Add chocolate and whisk until melted and smooth.
  9. Dip each doughnut halfway, allowing excess to drip off. Place on wire rack; let stand until set.

Adapted from: Kathryn Conrad (Taste of Home | August/ September 2012) and Bon Appetit

Comments

  1. ohsweetbasil says:

    Those are genius!

  2. Linda!! OMG, LOVE this!!! these look delicious and PERFECT!!! Pinning now and will definitely try this recipe! I’m taking a doughnut making class next week b/c I LOVE doughnuts so much and I am so excited . . and YOUR doughnuts are going on my must-bake list! Can I ask why bake at 324 degrees?

    • Aww thanks for pointing that out. I just updated it to 325. It must be ‘I need coffee’ kind of day, lol. Hope you like this recipe and let me know if you have better suggestions.

  3. Ohh these look LOVELY 🙂 Are you Gluten Intolerant Linda? I know quite a few friends who are so I’m definitely gonna pass them this recipe and hoping that they will make them 🙂

    Too pretty to eat!

  4. These look wonderful! Will definitely pass these onto GF friends! 😀

  5. These are so sinful! I will most definitely have to make these close to Thanksgiving! The guests will be thrilled!

  6. Linda, I’m so jealous of your donuts!! I’ve never tried apple cider donuts before and I’m so curious how they are like. The chocolate and colorful sprinkle make them all look cute and fancy!

  7. I need these in my life!

  8. Oooh! I worked at a donut & fried chicken place and would instagram donuts during my shifts. One of my friends is GF and would always ask if we had any GF donuts. I’m going to pass this along to her–she’ll be thrilled! :]

Leave a Reply

