MuffinMonday: Cranberry Coffee Cake Muffin

I can’t believe that we’re two months away from 2013. Seems like only yesterday I started 2012, moved to SF, got married (woohoo!), started blogging, and now 2012 is almost over. So many things have changed, especially when I decided to blog and joined the foodie networks. Our kitchen and fridge are always full of yummy goodness, the oven works really hard and always make me proud with the results, and the dirty dishes keep piling up each time I’ve had fun in the kitchen. I learned so many new things – recipes and ingredients that I never pay attention before. One of them is cranberry, which I hesitant to give it a try in the beginning, but I’m glad I did. This muffin is so yummylicious with a bit tangy sweetness flavors. I honestly think streusel adds a bonus point on this muffin; however you can enjoy it without streusel.

Cranberry Coffee Cake Muffin

Ingredients:

  • 5 tbs butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup dried cranberries

Streusel:

  • 4 tbs unsalted butter, cold
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 12 x 1/3-cup (80ml) capacity muffin pans with paper cases.
  2. In a mixer, combine butter, brown sugar, sugar, egg, milk, and vanilla.
  3. In a bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and salt.
  4. Combine the flour mixture to the butter and mix well.
  5. Add 1 cup cranberries and mix with a wooden spatula, then scoop to the muffin tins.
  6. To make streusel: combine all the ingredients and sprinkle them on top of muffin.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when tested. Turn onto a wire rack. Serve warm.

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week. Click here to see more of Muffin 101.

Comments

  1. Lovely Pantry says:

    This muffin looks so moist! I can just imagine the tangy sweetness of the cranberries 🙂 Thanks for sharing with us for #MuffinMonday! 🙂

  2. How fantastic putting streusel on top! I gravitate towards anything streusel-y! 😀

  3. What a buttery, delicious muffin! I could eat that top right off. (My favorite part is the browned muffin top.) But I am sure the rest of it is just a good. 🙂

  4. Oh oh oh these were the muffins that you were tempting me with on Instagram 🙂 They look so pretty and I’ve got a WHOLE BIG bag of cranberries at home so I’m definitely gonna try this recipe out 😉

  5. I’ve only tried blueberry coffee cake, but the cranberry coffee cake (muffin!!) looks fantastic. I love that you baked in muffin pan. It’s easier to serve or bring it to go! The cranberries in baked goods is always winner. I love the look and taste!

  6. Mmm coffee cake! I can’t believe it’s nearly 2013 either.. I swear it was just the other day I was writing 1996 on my primary school homework papers. Freaky. haha

Leave a Reply

