MuffinMonday: Choco Pumpkin Steamed Muffin

I’m still over the moon with my accomplishment last week. I shared them with my family and they were swoon. So, for this MuffinMonday, I decided to make a similar version and steamed, instead of baked. I really enjoy it much and still think this is one of the best muffin recipes. The texture is very smooth and not too sweet. It’s really something you can enjoy for breakfast or tea time. Plus, it does not take much of your time. In less than 30 minutes, you can enjoy this yummy muffin!
Ingredients:
  • 1½ cups all purpose flour
  • 1½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • ½ cup milk
  • ½ cup pumpkin puree
  • Optional: ¼ cup semi-sweet chocolate chip
Directions:
  1. Prepare the steamer on high heat.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.
  3. In a mixer, mix egg and sugar until smooth. Add olive oil and continue mixing.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture, and continue mixing in medium speed.
  5. Using a spatula, add milk and pumpkin puree and mix well.
  6. Add the chocolate chips.
  7. Fill the mold with batter about 1/2 full.
  8. When water boils, place the cake to the steamer and turn the heat down to medium.
  9. Steam for about 10-15 minutes.

For printed recipe, please click here.

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week. Click here to see more of Muffin 101.

Comments

  1. Mmm I love steamed cakes – they’re always so deliciously moist! Love that these get put together in only 30 minutes too!! I need me a batch asap!

    • Absolutely! I shared this with my family and so far this (and baked pumpkin muffin) are our favorites and they’re not too sweet. Hope you get a chance to try this.

  2. I haven’t ever tried steamed muffins but I can imagine how soft and delicious they are !:)

  3. Wow–these look great, I’ve never had steamed muffins but I bet tehy are fantastic!

  4. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    I love that you steamed these muffins! Steamed cake is very popular in Japan so I can imagine how steamed muffins would be like. Pumpkin and chocolate is one of my favorite combination. YUM!

  5. The muffins look light and delicious. The only thing I’ve ever steamed, dessert-wise, was a Christmas pudding, which is by its nature, heavy and dense. I need to give muffins a try, clearly!

Leave a Reply

