#SundaySupper: The Wicked Bao

Call me lame, but I normally don’t dress up for Halloween until few years ago when we had costume contest in the office. The first year, we did not do group category, rather went on our own. I was a little bumble queen bee. The funny part was everyone tried to make it as a surprise, hence that year we had 14 people dressed up as nuns. The winner was someone who dressed up as Miss Universe – it’s special because he (yes, he) sew the ribbon himself, complete with our company’s logo. And he showed up in 14-inch heels and gorgeous wig and makeup looks. Everyone was thrilled to see her him.

So, the following year, I dressed up better and became Wilma from head to toe, complete with her sandals. My friends came as Thor, Lara Croft, Jersey Shore, and so much more, including Lady Gaga with her meat dress. It was awesome because she worked with a fashion designer and made the dress out of latex. We’re all in awe. But, the cutest was Snow White and seven dwarfs sang Heigh-Ho!

Since then, we decided to dress up as a group. It’s so much easier to pick costumes and plan together. Last year we were X-Men with Wolverine, Storm, Rogue (me), Professor Xavier, Dark Phoenix, and Cyclops. This year…well, it’s still too early to reveal that. So in the meantime, let’s enjoy this wicked bao. It’s so wicked that you can’t miss it on Halloween.

Ingredients:

  • 1 shallot, thinly sliced
  • 1lb ground beef or chicken
  • 4 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
  • 5 (or more) fresh Thai chili
  • 2 tbs roughly chopped mint leaves
  • 2 tbs roughly chopped basil leaves
  • 1 tbs sliced scallion
  • 1 tbs Shaoxing rice wine
  • ¼ tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp dark soy sauce
  • 2 tbs plum sauce
  • 2 tbs fish sauce
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Sesame oil
  • 1 cucumber, sliced
  • Jalapeno, thinly sliced
  • 1 handful of cilantro, torn
  • 1 package of frozen bao, steamed (about 6 baos/ package)
  • Vietnamese Pickles with carrot and daikon radish (Do Chua)
  • Optional: roasted peanut, roughly chopped

Directions:

  1. Mix ground beef with lime juice and 2 tsp sesame oil. Let it marinade for 10-15 minutes.
  2. Steam your buns according to the directions in the package. When buns are done steaming, take them out of the steamer and cover with a towel to keep them warm.
  3. In a heated wok, add 2 tsp sesame oil, followed by garlic and shallot. Add the beef mixture and stirring constantly to break up any lumps.
  4. Add the rice wine and continue stirring. Then, add the dark soy sauce, fish sauce, plum sugar, and sugar. You can adjust the seasonings by adding more fish sauce.
  5. Add the mint leaves, basil leaves, scallion, and Thai chilies. Transfer to a bowl.
  6. To plate: open the bun (slice into two), add cucumber as your first layer. Spoon some of the minced meat, add the Vietnamese pickles, jalapeno, cilantro, and roasted peanut (if using). Topped with top layer of bun.

For printed recipe, please click here.

Halloween Sunday Supper

Bewitching Brews

Ghoulish Gruel

Haunted Snacks

Spooky Sweets

Please be sure you join us on Twitter throughout the day, Sunday (October 28th) during #SundaySupper.  We’ll be meeting up at 7:00 pm (Eastern) for our weekly #SundaySupper live chat where we’ll talk about all things Halloween.  All you have to do is follow the #SundaySupper hashtag, or you can follow us through TweetChat.

We’d also love to feature your favorite Halloween recipes on our #SundaySupper Pinterest board and share them with all of our followers, too.

Comments

  1. Sighhh that sounds like so much fun dressing up for Halloween at work! I’ve never really celebrated or done anything for Halloween but would love to! I had it all planned out this year that I was going to dress up and have a party and all… but turns out I don’t have enough time to organise it sigh maybe next year!

    Ohhh this Wicked Bao sure looks and I know tastes WICKEDLY delicious 😉

  2. WOW!!!! I am making these this week for sure. THANK YOU for sharing. I am always looking for new ways to use ground chicken and ground beef. Thank you thank you thank you!

  3. I love dressing up for Halloween. We (the kids and I) used to dress up to give out candy and scare the kids LOL but I haven’t had trick or treaters in 6 years. Now that we moved we will see what happens. If we get a lot this year it will be game on for next year!! I love this recipe, it looks good I want to lick my compute screen. I saving this one for sure!!

    • Awww that’s so much fun! We don’t have lots of kids in our neighborhood, so it doesn’t feel halloween-y around home. Hope you get a chance to dress up next year. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Thats great. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Sounds like you work in a really fun office. I am almost 30 and still have never dressed up for Halloween, maybe one day I will. In the mean while I am seriously coming over to your house if this is what you serve for a Halloween treat. 🙂

  6. I tried making home made bao (the bun itself). It didn’t work out so well. I think next time I am going to just buy the bao and try your recipe. Looks so good! Yum! Your office party sounds like alot of fun!

    • Thank you – we had a blast in the office and this year we did halloween recipe contest, too. I was having trouble with home made bao, too; hence decided to make it simpler. Hope you get a chance to try this.

  7. that is a seriously awesome idea to have the office dress up!! i would LOVE to see all your pics of your groups- sooooo cool. This sandwich looks delicious btw!

  8. Dude! I didn’t know you joined Sunday Supper?! 🙂 And hello!! I love this recipe. . YUM!!! I am so trying this! LOVE it!

  9. This looks so good…I love the carrot on it! And Halloween at your office sounds like a lot of fun….I’m a fan of “group” costumes.

  10. Looks awesome!! So fresh and simple, I love it!

  11. Love the dish and love that you dress up every year. I haven’t dressed up in eons.

  12. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    Hehee I love the name of this dish and it looks so good! I dressed up a few times but every year I get lazier and lazier and haven’t dressed up for the past few years (usually busy dealing with the kids). I enjoy checking out everyone’s creativity on Halloween though. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe! 😉

    • Thanks, Nami. Hope you get a chance to try this. Yeah, I tend to dress casually for Halloween but everything keeps changing the last minute since it’s a group thingy. But, it was fun.

Leave a Reply

