Flourless Chocolate Cupcake

There are two things that excite me today. First, we’re celebrating National choco cupcake day and secondly, I’ll see Jenna Weber of Eat, Live, Run on her book tour tomorrow. How many of you have read her book, ” White Jacket Required “? I recently finished reading it and I was soaked.

So to celebrate this special day, I decided to make this flourless chocolate cake from her book, and turned it into mini cupcakes. The only thing I change is the type of chocolate. Instead of semisweet choco, I use dark chocolate to compliment the frosting. I have to confess I couldn’t stop eating them all, especially when they’re freshly baked. They’re so so so good! In fact, I shared some with Frederick’s colleagues and they loved it! The choco cake is so moist and really addicting.

Now for the frosting, instead of regular vanilla flavor, I added passionfruit nectar to balance the chocolate flavors. Simple reason, I’ve been craving for choco passionfruit cake, so I took the opportunity to bake it. Anyways, here’s the original recipe of Jenna and I hope you can try it.

Flourless Chocolate Cake with Vanilla-Buttercream Frosting
Makes two 9-inch cake layers
By Jenna Weber

For the cake

  • 10 oz (about 2 cups) semisweet chocolate
  • 5 oz butter
  • 6 eggs, at room temeprature
  • ½ cup granulated sugar

For the frosting

  • 2 sticks (½ pound) butter, softened
  • 2 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tbs milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Thoroughly butter two 9-inch cake pans, then dust each lightly with flour and set aside.
  2. Make the cake layers: in a small saucepan over very low heat, melt chocolate and butter together. While mixture is melting, whip eggs in a stand mixer at high speed. After about 3 minutes, when eggs start to become thick and pale, add sugar slowly. Continue whipping on high until the mixture is thick, pale, and ribbony, about 6-8 more minutes.
  3. Slowly fold melted chocolate into the egg-and-sugar mixture, gently turning with a rubber spatula so that batter stays light and airy. Pour batter into cake pans.
  4. Bake for 30 minutes, then remoce from oven and let cool in cake pans for 10 minutes. Run a knife around edges of cakes and transfer from pans onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  5. While cakes are cooling, make the frosting: In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat butter and sugar together until combined. Add milk and vanilla extract, and continue beating on high until the frosting is thick and light, about 5 minutes.
  6. When the cake layers are cooled completely, spread one third of the frosting on top of one layer, and top with the other layer. Frost top and sides of cake with remaining frosting.
Comments

  1. I love cupcakes with colorful sprinkles – they are just so adorable! Vanilla butter cream frosting is my favorite!

  2. Passion fruit nectar? Wow! Yum! These cupcakes look adorable! Love the styling! I also recently finished Jenna’s book and really liked it too! You have to make the Linguine with clam sauce. It’s amazeballs. 🙂 I just added mushrooms b/c I add mushrooms to everything 🙂

  3. These are gorgeous cupcakes but can I confess what also delighted me? Your Halloween themed logo! 😀

  4. Yum, these look so rich and chocolatey 🙂 Love the cute mini flags 🙂

  5. I love your pictures! The sprinkles add a nice touch!

Leave a Reply

