{September} Baking Penpal: Apple Cinnamon Bread

Everyone, please welcome Lindsey of Pasdedeux Blog. She’s a new friend whom I met over Baking Penpal this month. Isn’t it fun to meet someone who has share the same interest and you can taste their creation?

When I signed up for September Baking Penpal, I didn’t expect this secret ingredients, CINNAMON, came in this early. Somehow, I always associate cinnamon with apple or pumpkin, which leads to a conclusion: Fall and I still wished for Summer days (more light days). I have to admit I was having hard time over this one because errr…I don’t find cinnamon appealing (other than cinnamon roll, of course). But, I was surprised when i received her creation. It came in a big heavy box – I suddenly felt like Christmas morning all of sudden. She wrapped the bread so nicely and neatly that it did not fall apart when I unwrapped it. Not only that, it smelled so so good that I could not help myself but took a bite at 10.30PM.

I’m so glad to be part of this Baking Penpal because when I crave for more of this bread, I can contact Lindsey to bake more bake more myself. Yes, recipe is included and here I share it with y’all.

Apple Cinnamon Bread
Makes 1 loaf
Prep time: 20 mins
Total time: 1.5 hours

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 2 tbs coconut oil, melted
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup whole milk ricotta
  • ½ cup 2% milk
  • 2-3 apples, finely chopped (about 3 cups)

Topping:

  • 2 tbs raw sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°. Grease a standard loaf pan.
  2. Combine flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and sugar in a large bowl.
  3. Mix egg, ricotta, milk, and oil in a medium bowl.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry, and stir until just combined. Fold in apples.
  5. Pour dough into prepared pan. Combine cinnamon and sugar in a small bowl and pour over top of the dough.
  6. Bake for 40-50 minutes.

If you’re curious about Baking Penpal, Bakin’ Friends is all about connecting bakers, bloggers, foodies, and people who just like sweets! We’re in the business of baking and making friends!

Each month we will be baking goodies, with a secret ingredient, to send out to one another. I’ll let you know at the beginning of the month what secret ingredient we’re using. It might be chocolate, it might be maple syrup, it may be bacon, whatever it is though you’ll be required to use it (unless there’s an allergy to the ingredient) in your baked goody.

On the 6th of each month you will be paired up with a Bakin’ Friend. You’ll contact your newly appointed Bakin’ Friend to see if they have any allergies or dietary restrictions and you’ll also get their mailing address. Then you’ll bake your goody and have it in the mail and on its way to your new Bakin’ Friend by the 16th of each month. You’ll of course want to include the recipe for your baked goody so that your new friend can recreate the yummies at home! How cute would it be if we all did our recipes on vintage recipe cards, just sayin’!

Then, on the last day of the month we’ll post about who our new Bakin’ Friend is, what they baked, and how they used the secret ingredient. (This group right now is only open to US and Canadian residents. US residents will be paired with US residents, and Canadian residents with Canadian residents)

Are you ready to make some new friends? Then send an email to stephsbitebybite(at)gmail(dot)com with Bakin’ Friends in the subject. Emails MUST be received before the 2nd of each month so that I have time to get all the match ups done. Please make sure to include your full name, your email address, your blog name and URL (if applicable), and whether you live in the US or Canada.

So, why wait? Because I might send up my baked goods to you.

Leave a Reply

