When Summer Ends: German Pancake with Summer Fruits

I used to love Fall and Winter so much. Yeah, you can say that I love cold weather and I’m completely agree with that. One of my dreams is actually living in place that gets snow each year. I’ve been dying to live in New York since 12 years ago and recently nagging to move to Seattle so I can play with snow and go on a vacay to Canada. Of course, Frederick rejected my brilliant idea right away since he loves tropical weather.

However, I recently fell in love with Summer., especially ever since I came back to SF because the weather is always breezy. Not only that, Summer is also the best time to have fruits like peach, apricots, and all kind of berries. Gulp, I wish we can have those fresh fruits all year long. It must be lovely, don’t you think?

But, the list does not stop right there. One of the biggest reason why I love Summer is more daylight. I love how it is still bright when I leave work and it just seems I am more energized to do things. That includes taking pictures. Yes, I am one of you who enjoys natural light for taking pictures. So, to end Summer time, here’s German Pancake with your favorite Summer fruits.

Ingredients:

½ cup all-purpose flour, sifted
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
½ cup milk
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons melted butter
¼ teaspoon salt
Mixed Berries, syrup, whipped cream, powdered sugar-for serving

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9-inch oven safe skillet with butter and set aside.

2. Gradually add flour to beaten eggs, mix with a fork. Stir in milk, vanilla extract, butter, and salt. Pour batter into prepared skillet.

3. Bake at 350° for 25 minutes or until golden brown. Cut into wedges and serve warm with berries, syrup, whipped cream, and powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

