Quick & Easy: Watermelon Basil Granita


It’s good to be back! Though I did not go on vacation, but I’m happy to be here. Last week was a disaster. If you follow me on Twitter, you might read that my computer was infected with virus. I had no idea how it happened, but my laptop was working fine in the morning and started to crash right after my early meeting. First, I thought I had problem with my network (it happened just two weeks before that), but then the network was fine. So, my next guess was the docking station but that was fine, either. Feeling helpess, I finally reached out to my I.T. technician but since I work remotely, I had to wait the next day for them to come. That part I could handle. They tried to virtually got connected with me but it did not work. The most devastating part was when I lost my desktop files. All my sweat, tears, and blood for months suddenly dissapeared.


Devastated, I went home and I just needed something to cool my brain. LOL. So, I decided to make this granita and it just happened I had all the ingredients at home. Lucky, huh? The next day, the I.T. guy came in and took a quick look on my machine. It took him more than usual to fix my machine and pretty much he had to restore everything back. Good news is I now have a brand new machine, but the bad news is all my saved items in my browser are gone and I have to start all over again. The best news came in two days ago when all my desktop files appeared on my screen. I was so happy and saved them right away! Yeah, lesson learnt, but yay for that!

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups watermelon cubes
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1-2 tbs thinly sliced/ chopped basil
  • 3 tbs granulated sugar
  • Honey (optional)

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender and process until smooth. Transfer the mixture to a shallow dish and freeze them for 2-3 hours.
  2. Begin scraping the frozen top layer lightly, and return to the freezer. Repeat the occasional scraping process a couple of hours later until the entire mixture is shaved.
  3. Store and cover in plastic wrap until serving.

Leave a Reply

