Got Breakfast? Banana Crumb Muffin

What’s your ideal breakfast? For me, it has to be quick and easy to digest. Honestly, I really enjoy breakfast and it’s part of my daily schedule. However, it is hard for me to have a proper breakfast since…I prefer to spend extra hours minutes under the blankie. I know that’s just something that I need to re-consider.

Anyways, our breakfast during weekdays are very typical and predictable, toast. And frankly, I’m getting bored though I consider myself as a carb person and I love bread. So, I was thinking of having muffin to make our mornings a bit colorful and *ahem* since I just got a new muffin pan.

I’ve been eyeing on this recipe for quite some time and I know Stephanie has mentioned how good it is, so I was ready to give it a shot and love it so much. In fact, I’ve made this numerous times and it never failed me. I, however, made slight adjustment on the last batch because I ran out of sugar so I used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of honey, plus adding 1 tbs of cocoa powder. And again, the recipe works wonderful!

Banana Crumb Muffins
source: slightly adapted from allrecipes.com | KitchenFrolic

Ingredients:

for the muffins:

  • 1½ cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted

for the topping:

  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened

Directions:

for the muffins:

  1. Preheat oven to 375˚ F. Line a standard muffin tray with 10 paper liners.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together 1 1/2 cups flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  3. In another large bowl, mash up the bananas with a fork. Beat together bananas, sugar, egg, cinnamon and melted butter until well mixed and only very small lumps of banana remain. Stir the banana mixture into the flour mixture just until everything is moistened.
  4. Spoon the batter into lined muffin cups.

for the topping:

  1. In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 tablespoons flour and cinnamon. Cut in softened butter until mixture is crumbly and has small lumps of sugar. Sprinkle topping evenly over the muffin batter.
  2. Bake in preheated oven for 18 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into centre of a muffin comes out clean.
  3. Transfer the muffin tin to a wire rack to cool completely before removing the muffins.

yields: 10 muffins

Leave a Reply

