Need I Say More? Salmon Green Rice

These past three weeks, I’ve been bombarded with deadlines at work and home. The best time for me to catch up my breath is actually on my way to work/ home because it takes me almost 1.5 hour to commute. So, I mostly use that time to catch up on something fun and entertaining. Luckily, I always work from home every Friday, but that does not mean I can stay relax. It’s actually the opposite, especially since it is still Summer and I always use that opportunity to cook/ bake more so that I can take the advantage of taking more pictures. I am worried when Fall comes and I won’t be able to take pictures because I miss the sun light.

However, due to work and other stuffs, I did not do any cooking/ baking last weekend. Though my heart screams of being in the kitchen, but I have to admit that working on 3 different projects that were due immediately was so challenging and twisting my mind. So, by dinner time, I felt exhausted. But, I guess that’s when comfort food kicks in, right? I love fish – and I am sure this recipe will put a smile on your face because it is so easy to make, comforting, and absolutely delicious. And got to think of it, sometimes it is good to have a relaxing weekend and not worry about cooking/ baking and take pictures.

Ingredients:

  • 300 gr salmon
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro
  • 2 cups steam rice
  • 1 cup dice onion
  • 3 garlic, chopped
  • 2 cloves shallot, chopped
  • 1/2 tbs butter
  • 2 tsp sea salt + extra for salmon
  • 1 tbs fish sauce
  • Ground black pepper
  • Olive oil

Directions:

  1. Rub the salmon with salt, pepper, and olive oil. Let it rest for a while and cook in a nonstick skillet over medium high heat until lightly brown on each side. Let it cool, then scrap the salmon in a bowl.
  2. Meanwhile, combine fish sauce and sea salt in a small bowl.
  3. Add butter to a medium high heat pan, then addgarlic, onion, and shallot. Cook for about 3-4 minutes until cooked and fragrant.
  4. Add the salmon back to the pan, then add parsley, cilantro.
  5. Add the steam rice and the fish sauce over. Mix well and serve.
  6. Optional: Squeeze lime over rice (about 1 tsp).

Notes: The most important tip is to use rice that has been previously cooked (2 or 3-day old rice) to help keep the dish from turning mushy.

Leave a Reply

