Orange Ginger Mochi Doughnut with Orange-Sugar Coating

*Panting* I think that’s the longest menu item ever. Try saying it 5 times and faster and boom – that’s your tongue twister of the day. Lately, I’ve been craving for sweets – donuts to be exact. So, one morning I got caramel sea salt donut for breakfast and left disappointed. Not only the size was too petite, the price also costed me arms and legs. It’s $3.50 for ‘smaller than regular’ donut. Curious, I browsed some donut recipes and tried to come up with something that can satisfy my taste buds. I want something gooey, crunchy with fresh and fruity flavor.

I tried to describe it to my fried and she suddenly shook her head. Yeah, I have the weirdest taste among my friends and i’m proud of it. What can I say…I’m limited edition! So, I tried experimenting some recipes and finally came up with this one, which I love the most because it contains mochiko, which makes the result tastes lighter and more delicate.

Oh, do you know the difference between doughnut and donut?

Orange Ginger Mochi Doughnut with Orange-Sugar Coating

Makes: 32

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup mochiko
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp grated orange zest
  • 1/2 tsp grated ginger
  • 2 tbs melted butter
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeeze orange juice
  • Oil to fry doughnuts

Orange-sugar coating:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp grated orange zest

Directions:

  1. Mix mochiko, flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.
  2. Beat eggs, sugar, orange zest, and grated ginger, then add the melted butter and orange juice. Lastly, add the flour mixture and mix well.
  3. Orange-sugar coating: mix the ingredients and set aside on a shallow dish.
  4. Drop spoonfuls of dough into hot oil (350°) and cook until brown (about 3-4 mins). Once the dough pops up and floats, drain them on a drying rack.
  5. When they’re still warn, coat them with orange-sugar coating.

Leave a Reply

