Breakfast of Champions: Egg & Avocado Toast

Growing up, I normally had my toast with jams, fried egg, or meat floss (pork sung) for breakfast. That’s literally my go-to meal because I left home at 6AM during school days and school started at 7AM; so I didn’t have much time to sit nicely on the dining table and had my breakfast. Breakfast means something that can be eaten in the car.

Luckily, I have trimmed down that rule. These days, breakfast means meal that I can enjoy while sit down, especially on weekends. I thought my friends was joking when he told me about egg and avocado toast as his go-to meal during school days. It never crossed my mind that people would eat this kind of combo. I mean, I adore avocado. I love egg. I enjoy toast. To combine them all, …errr… really? But again, my friend convinced me to give it a try.

…and he’s right. I’ve tried this recipe over and over, and I always crave for more. Yes, I have added this one as my go-to meal menu. Funny part was when I told my friends in Asia about this recipe. They had the same reaction as I did when I heard it the first time. I wonder who came up with this idea in the beginning. Enjoy!

Serves: 1

Ingredients

  • 1 large egg, over-easy or sunny side up
  • 2 1/2-inch-thick slices country bread, toasted
  • 2-3 slices of avocado
  • 1/4 tsp butter
  • Salt and pepper
  • Chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:

  1. Toast your bread the way you prefer – in an oven or toaster.
  2. Heat a small non-stick skillet over low heat and add butter and crack the eggs into the pan. Season with a pinch of salt and pepper and continue to cook over low heat until the white becomes opaque. The goal is to avoid breaking the yolks.
  3. Arrange the avocado slices over the bread and sprinkle with cilantro. Place the egg in the center of the toast and another toast on top.
Leave a Reply

